Village Books

+44 20 8693 2808

Opening Hours:
Monday - Saturday
Click & Collect
9.30am - 5pm
Sunday 11am - 4pm

Books for Children

Books for Children

From new-born babies upwards, we’re really good at finding the right book for every child. If you need help, we love to recommend and we relish the challenge of engaging reluctant readers. We also carry Bond Assessment Papers, 11+ Practice Tests and lots of non-fiction to support your child’s curriculum.

The 130-Storey Treehouse

The 130-Storey Treehouse

Hardback £12.99

There are lots of laughs at every level in The 130-Storey Treehouse, the tenth book in the number one bestselling Treehouse series from Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton, out in hardback. This is our Treehouse, come on up!We’ve added thirteen news levels to our Treehouse, including a soap bubble blaster, a GRABINATOR (it can grab anything from anywhere at any time), a time-wasting level, a toilet paper factory (because you can never have too much toilet paper) and an extraterrestrial observation centre . .

. Which will come in handy when giant flying eyeballs from outer space come to grabinate US!

Shoe Wars (cover image unavailable)

Shoe Wars

Hardback £12.99

She’ll do ANYTHING to win the glitzy Golden Shoe Award and knows that entering flying shoes is her hot ticket to the trophy. Flying shoes that Ruby and Bear just happen to be hiding… Get ready for a gadget-packed, wedge-of-your-feet adventure like no other! Laughs and pictures on every single page! More praise for Shoe Wars: ‘As with the Tom Gates books, every page here is dynamic and attention-grabbing, packed with cartoons and typeface trickery.’ Financial Times ‘An original and outrageous storyline gives plenty of scope for absurd inventions, loathsome baddies and heroic deeds from underequipped underdogs

The Adventures of Parsley the Lion

The Adventures of Parsley the Lion

Hardback £14.99

A brand new glorious gift book of a much-loved classic. A celebration of words and pictures from the creator of Paddington Bear, Michael Bond, and contemporary genius and internet drawing sensation Rob Biddulph! Living in the magical Herb Garden, Parsley the lion is never quite sure what’s going to happen to him next . .

Wizards of Once: Never and Forever

Wizards of Once: Never and Forever

Hardback £12.99

Xar and Wish have found the ingredients for the Spell-to-get-rid-of-Witches. Now the Kingwitch is calling them to the lake of the lost. But first they must mix the potion in the Cup of Second Chances …

Can they defeat the hungry Tatzelwerm monster and escape with the cup? And will the spell be strong enough to lift the CURSE OF THE WILDWOODS… or will Witches reign FOREVER?

Asha & the Spirit Bird

Asha & the Spirit Bird

Paperback £6.99

WINNER OF THE COSTA CHILDREN’S BOOK AWARD 2019

Asha lives in the foothills of the Himalayas. Money is tight and she misses her papa who works in the city. When he suddenly stops sending his wages, Asha makes a pact with her best friend, Jeevan, to find her father. But the journey is dangerous: they must cross the world’s highest mountains and face hunger, tiredness – even snow leopards. And yet, Asha has the unshakeable sense that the spirit bird of her grandmother – her nanijee – will be watching over her.

Full of myth and atmosphere, Asha’s tropical adventure story is a beautiful must-read.

The Go-Away Bird

The Go-Away Bird

Paperback £6.99

The Go-Away Bird combines brilliant rhyming verse from much-loved children’s author Julia Donaldson, creator of the bestselling picture books The Gruffalo and What the Ladybird Heard, with stunning illustrations from the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal-winning Catherine Rayner. This is a lovely book about friendship and working together.

Last year, Ella read this book during storytelling sessions for school children for World Book Day, and everyone joined in for the chorus!

Tiger Heart

Tiger Heart

Paperback £7.99

Fly never meant to end up in a cage with a man-eating tiger. And though she’s sure she’s no princess, when the tiger addresses her as ‘your majesty’, she can’t help but vow to free him and return him home.

But the bird-filled jungles and cloud-topped mountains of the tiger’s homeland are an ocean away. With dark and dangerous forces working against them, will Fly be able to fulfil her promise and maybe – just maybe – become the queen her tiger knows her to be?

This book by local author Penny Chrimes is a roaring adventure, perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars and Pax. 

The Beast of Buckingham Palace

The Beast of Buckingham Palace

Hardback, Special Price £12.99

Britain. The future. The year is 2120.

Prince Alfred, a sickly boy of twelve, has never known life outside Buckingham Palace.

Evil forces are at work and he must do battle with the King of the Beasts – the Griffin…

Another classic tale from the No.1 bestselling author David Walliams, this enthralling tale is an epic adventure of myth and legend, good and evil, and one small boy who must save the world!

Take Me to Museums

Take Me to Museums

Paperback £8.95

Take Me to Museums is a guided journal for young explorers.

You can use this book in any museum or gallery, anywhere in the world! With it, you will be able to explore your surroundings and record you ideas. Each chapter will take you on a journey as you answer questions, write down your thoughts and draw what you see. Throughout the book you’ll also find facts about museums all over the world.

We think this is the perfect book for inquisitive and budding young travellers!

Dancing the Charleston

Dancing the Charleston

Paperback £6.99

In a little cottage on the edge of the grand Somerset Estate, Mona lives with her aunt. Life on the edge of the Somerset Estate means that Mona knows she will never have a life full of beautiful clothes and riches.

But when Lady Somerset dies, Mona is suddenly propelled into a life of razzle-dazzle parties, new Bohemian friends and wonderful trips to London. But Mona discovers that she cannot dance away from her past…

A sparkling, glamorous new novel from the bestselling author Jacqueline Wilson, much beloved by Hannah and Ella!

What our customers say

Everyone there is enthusiastic and friendly. They really know about books, and they display them so enticingly that it is hard to walk past! They are expert at looking up obscure publications, and efficient at getting most things in the very next day. Couldn’t be better.

Don’t be put off by its diminutive size – it’s like a TARDIS, and there’s a far greater choice of books on display than the laws of physics should really allow.


close

Join our mailing list