Village Books

+44 20 8693 2808

Opening Hours:
Monday - Saturday
9.00am - 5.30pm
Sunday 11.00am - 5.00pm

Books for Children

Books for Children

From new-born babies upwards, we’re really good at finding the right book for every child. Whether it’s a picture book, an early reader or a gripping adventure, we’ve got a great selection for your children to explore. If you need help, we love to recommend and we relish the challenge of engaging reluctant readers. We also carry Bond Assessment Papers, 11+ Practice Tests and lots of non-fiction to support your child’s curriculum.

Asha & the Spirit Bird

Asha & the Spirit Bird

Paperback £6.99

WINNER OF THE COSTA CHILDREN’S BOOK AWARD 2019

Asha lives in the foothills of the Himalayas. Money is tight and she misses her papa who works in the city. When he suddenly stops sending his wages, Asha makes a pact with her best friend, Jeevan, to find her father. But the journey is dangerous: they must cross the world’s highest mountains and face hunger, tiredness – even snow leopards. And yet, Asha has the unshakeable sense that the spirit bird of her grandmother – her nanijee – will be watching over her.

Full of myth and atmosphere, Asha’s tropical adventure story is a beautiful must-read.

The Go-Away Bird

The Go-Away Bird

Paperback £6.99

The Go-Away Bird combines brilliant rhyming verse from much-loved children’s author Julia Donaldson, creator of the bestselling picture books The Gruffalo and What the Ladybird Heard, with stunning illustrations from the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal-winning Catherine Rayner. This is a lovely book about friendship and working together.

Last year, Ella read this book during storytelling sessions for school children for World Book Day, and everyone joined in for the chorus!

Tiger Heart

Tiger Heart

Paperback £7.99

Fly never meant to end up in a cage with a man-eating tiger. And though she’s sure she’s no princess, when the tiger addresses her as ‘your majesty’, she can’t help but vow to free him and return him home.

But the bird-filled jungles and cloud-topped mountains of the tiger’s homeland are an ocean away. With dark and dangerous forces working against them, will Fly be able to fulfil her promise and maybe – just maybe – become the queen her tiger knows her to be?

This book by local author Penny Chrimes is a roaring adventure, perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars and Pax. 

The Beast of Buckingham Palace

The Beast of Buckingham Palace

Hardback, Special Price £12.99

Britain. The future. The year is 2120.

Prince Alfred, a sickly boy of twelve, has never known life outside Buckingham Palace.

Evil forces are at work and he must do battle with the King of the Beasts – the Griffin…

Another classic tale from the No.1 bestselling author David Walliams, this enthralling tale is an epic adventure of myth and legend, good and evil, and one small boy who must save the world!

Take Me to Museums

Take Me to Museums

Paperback £8.95

Take Me to Museums is a guided journal for young explorers.

You can use this book in any museum or gallery, anywhere in the world! With it, you will be able to explore your surroundings and record you ideas. Each chapter will take you on a journey as you answer questions, write down your thoughts and draw what you see. Throughout the book you’ll also find facts about museums all over the world.

We think this is the perfect book for inquisitive and budding young travellers!

Dancing the Charleston

Dancing the Charleston

Paperback £6.99

In a little cottage on the edge of the grand Somerset Estate, Mona lives with her aunt. Life on the edge of the Somerset Estate means that Mona knows she will never have a life full of beautiful clothes and riches.

But when Lady Somerset dies, Mona is suddenly propelled into a life of razzle-dazzle parties, new Bohemian friends and wonderful trips to London. But Mona discovers that she cannot dance away from her past…

A sparkling, glamorous new novel from the bestselling author Jacqueline Wilson, much beloved by Hannah and Ella!

They Did It First

They Did It First

Hardback £9.99

They Did It First features fifty trailblazing scientists, artists and mathematicians who were not afraid to dream big and become pioneers in their field.

Beautifully illustrated throughout, the extraordinary men and women profiled include well-known figures such as Alan Turing, Jane Goodall and Aretha Franklin, alongside lesser-known achievers, such as Thai Lee, the first Korean woman to graduate Harvard Business School, and Walter Alvarez, who was the first person to theorise that dinosaurs died from an asteroid blast.

A Super Weird! Mystery

A Super Weird! Mystery

Paperback £6.99

It’s the new funniest mystery detective series ever, from the genius behind the bestselling Barry Loser books!

Things are about to get SUPER WEIRD. When Melvin moves from the city to Donut (a perfectly round island with a hole in the middle), he thinks it’s the most rubbish place ever. Then he meets Rhubarb.

Melvin & Rhubarb love a good mystery. Unfortunately, nothing ever happens in their boring old town. Until the Donut Hole Monsters turn up…

Here in the Real World

Here in the Real World

Paperback £7.99

From the author of the highly acclaimed, bestselling novel Pax comes a gorgeous and moving novel that is an ode to introverts, dreamers, and misfits everywhere.

Ware can’t wait to spend summer ‘off in his own world’, dreaming of knights and castles. But then he meets Jolene, a tough, secretive girl planting a garden in the rubble of an abandoned church.

For Ware and Jolene, this secret place becomes a refuge. And when their sanctuary is threatened Ware vows to save it. But what does a hero look like in real life?

Sofia Valdez, Future Prez

Sofia Valdez, Future Prez

Hardback £12.99

An instant #1 New York Times bestseller, this is the brilliant latest book from the creators of Iggy Peck, Architect; Rosie Revere, Engineer; and Ada Twist, Scientist.

Every morning, Abuelo walks Sofia to school until one day, when Abuelo hurts his ankle at a local landfill. Sofia wonders what she can do about the dangerous Mount Trashmore. Then she gets an idea-the town can turn the slimy mess into a park! Sofia sets out to prove what one kid can do. We love this book about grassroots activism, courage, and perseverance!

What our customers say

They know about books and can discuss them, and when you order them they arrive quicker than you can say Amazon.

Don’t be put off by its diminutive size – it’s like a TARDIS, and there’s a far greater choice of books on display than the laws of physics should really allow.


close

Join our mailing list